Advancing Science and Technology Towards Achieving Agricultural Productivity, Sustainability and Competitiveness

The Outstanding Young Scientists, Inc. (OYSI) will hold its 6th Annual Meeting and Scientific Convention on July 12, 2011 at the Manila Hotel with the theme Advancing Science and Technology Towards Achieving Agricultural Productivity, Sustainability and Competitiveness.”

The convention will feature a keynote address from National Scientist Dolores A. Ramirez, who is a member of the NAST Executive Council and chair of the NAST Agricultural Sciences Division. She was conferred as National Scientist in 1998..

Dr. Candida B. Adalla, OYS 1989, Officer-in-Charge of the DA Biotech Program Implementation Unit, will discuss “Agrobiotech Initiatives in the Philippines” while Dr Leocadio S. Sebastian, OYS 1999, Regional Director for Asia, the Pacific and Oceania of Bioversity International will talk about “The Agrobiodiversity Framework for the Asia Pacific Region.

And for the first time since the Society holds its Annual Convention in 2006,  technical papers on the researches being performed by the OYSI members will be presented during the simultaneous technical sessions on the following fields, “Agriculture and Life Sciences,” “Health and Social Sciences” and “Chemical, Physical, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences.”


OYSI is a duly registered organization of young scientist awardees of the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines committed to excellence and innovation in research and development for the benefit of the Filipino people.

The Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) Award was instituted in 1980 by the National Science Development Board (NSDB) to recognized scientists who are below 40 years old by the time of the awarding, for their outstanding contribution in science and technology. Since it was first implemented, the National Academy of Science and Technology has been the screening and selection body for this award. In 1982, the OYS award became part of the recognition awards given by the Academy. Recently, it was declared by NAST Philippines as the Philippine Academy of Young Scientists.

The OYS award carries with it a cash prize and a trophy, which are presented during the Annual Scientific Meeting awarding ceremonies of the NAST Philippines on the second week of July each year. From the time it was launched, there have been already 283 recipients of the award in the various fields of science. Luningning Samarita, Executive Director, NAST


Author: tuklasinnatin

A Journalist and served government for 20 years. A community organizer who rose from a clan of artists and novelists.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s