Twelve out of the 14 seats of the National Movement of Young Legislators (NMYL), were won by the candidates of Team Doray, led by Quezon City Councilor Dr. Dorothy “Doray” Delarmente.

First District Councilor Delarmente won as the new national president of the NMYL with teammate Valenzuela City Councilor Shalani Soledad as executive vice-president.

Delarmente garnered 665 votes while Soledad got 660 from the 916 members who attended the 18th NMYL National Congress last February 23-25 at Sofitel Philippine Plaza.

The NMYL is composed of vice governors, vice mayors, provincial board members, city/municipal councilors, SK and Liga ng mga Barangay Federation presidents who are 35 years old and below at the time of their election to office on May 10, 2010.

Councilor Delarmente will replace Isabela board member Cecilia “Jen” Reyes.

Team Doray’s platform includes strengthening the movement through the capabilities and idealism of local chapters and its members.

These include Local Governance Capability Building Programs; continuing education for members; strengthening of local chapters and associations of members, and communication development.

Delarmente said that as the new breed of leaders in the country, they all stand united to fight for the movements’ cause – to become young politicians with vision, idealism and with command to revolutionize the community and government and make the Philippines a better place to live in.

Other members of the team who won includes: Vice President for NCR Jana Ejercito (San Juan); VP for Luzon Aris Gaza (Bataan); VP for Visayas Mike Gorriceta (Iloilo); Secretary General Buko dela Cruz (Bulacan); Deputy Secretary General Jo Visaya (Pangasinan); Treasure AJ Ponce (Cagayan); Deputy Treasurer Benjo Agarao (Laguna); Auditor (2nd seat) Nicco Villasin (Leyte); and PROs (2 seats) Say-say Emano (Misamis Oriental) and Mark Buenviaje (Rizal).

Also elected were Alexander Ali for VP for Mindanao and April Dayap for Auditor (1st seat).

The new set of officers will serve from 2011 to 2014.

QC Mayor Herbert Bautista also served as the president of NMYL from 2001-2004, while serving as vice-mayor during the incumbency of former Mayor Sonny Belmonte who now Speaker of the House of Representatives. -30- Divine/Maureen Quinones, PAISO


Author: tuklasinnatin

A Journalist and served government for 20 years. A community organizer who rose from a clan of artists and novelists.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s